Welcome to the Thimphu Ambition Summit

*Times are in Bhutan timezone

Wednesday 9 December 2020

12:00 - 14:00 GMT

StartEndTopicPresented By
18:0018:30Session Chair
  • H.E Mr. Sonam P. Wangdi, LDC Group Chair
High-Level Opening Remarks
  • H.E. Dr. Lotay Tshering (Pre-recorded video), Prime Minister of Bhutan
  • H.E. Mr. Andrés Landerretche, Special Envoy COP25 Presidency
  • H.E. Alok Sharma (Pre-recorded video), COP26 President Designate
  • H.E. António Guterres (Pre-recorded video), UN Secretary General
  • H.E. Patricia Espinosa (Pre-recorded video), UNFCCC Executive Secretary
18:3018:35Launch of Ministerial Statements
18:3519:55Panel discussion on raising ambition, Paris compatible green economic recovery and mobilizing support for the most vulnerable
Moderator for the panel:
  • Navin Singh Khadka, BBC Multilingual Environment Correspondent, BBC World Service
Keynote Speakers
  • H.E. Sheikh Hasina (Pre-recorded video), Prime Minister of Bangladesh
Panel Members:
  • H.E. Prof. Fekadu Beyene Aleka, Commissioner for the Environment, Forest and Climate Change Commission Ethiopia
  • Ms. Thinley Choden, Founding Curator and Climate Reality Leader, Global Shapers Thimphu Hub Bhutan
  • H.E Mr. Ugo Astuto, EU Ambassador to Bhutan
  • H.E. Yannic Glemarec, Executive Director, GCF
  • H.E. Minister Orlando Habet, Chair of AOSIS
19:5520:00Closing Session
  • H.E. Dr.Tandi Dorji, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Bhutan
20:00 End of the event